EG-1 with Peak/Lab Sweet Burrs

Grinders are one of the keys to exceptional espresso. Discuss them here.
realbrotherjay

#1: Post by realbrotherjay »

Hey all, I've got an EG-1 that I've been using for several months now, and having read a lot of positive things about the burrs offered in the Ditting 804 (now 807) Lab Sweet, I went ahead and got a pair of Mahlkonig Peak burrs, which I've been made to understand are identical. I installed them and went through the process of aligning them, first by just trying the different positions on each burr carrier, and then by using aluminum foil shims, checking along the way with the marker test. As far as I can tell, I got a nearly perfect marker test on both the upper (stationary) and lower (rotating) burrs, and with the magnetic covers off, they also appear very nearly fully parallel, as useless as that assessment may be. However, I am absolutely unable to get anything resembling a grind fine enough for espresso. I've got it set to one tick before I start to hear burr contact and all I've got is grounds that don't quite stick together when pressed between my fingers, and which yield the kind of gushers that nightmares are made of. Does anyone have any insights here? I was coming to these burrs hoping to perhaps find the elusive true dual-purpose burrs, and I've used Peak grinders at work, so obviously I know these burrs should not be incapable of espresso. I've only been able to do about 1 kilo of seasoning but I have a hard time imagining that would be the make or break factor for being able to use them at all. I'll try to post photos when my morale has recovered sufficiently to repeat the marker tests, because, fool that I am, I didn't photograph the successful tests, only the failures along the way.

Advertisement
Chert

#2: Post by Chert »

I thought those burrs had 2 holes equidistant apart. EG-1 carrier is three holes, V2 magnetic, or is the burr plate drilled for screw mounts?
LMWDP #198