Ditting 807 Lab Sweet user experience - Page 13

Grinders are one of the keys to exceptional espresso. Discuss them here.
Agathorn

#121: Post by Agathorn »

I read a lot about "shimming" the grinder to fix alignment issues. I'm not that good with modding stuff. Is this often necessary to get good performance of this grinder? I'd hope this grinder would work as expected considering its price.

Jeff
Team HB

#122: Post by Jeff »

"As expected" is relative. For a production setting, most seem satisfied with as-shipped alignment on grinders. The trend for even more precise alignment seems to be driven by enthusiasts and hasn't been embraced wholeheartedly by any of the major manufacturers of commercial grinders.

TheodorAdorno

#123: Post by TheodorAdorno »

Hi all,

I've just made an order for a 807 Lab Sweet from stock recently arrived in the UK - I hope it's as good as you lot have made it out to be! :D

I still don't really like its looks (I was going to get a Compak PK100 instead) but a) I'm no oil painting myself and b) I figured that it would add more variety to my existing grinders because of its unique burr set.

Looking forward to joining the owners club!

Best,

Paul.

longpvo

#124: Post by longpvo replying to TheodorAdorno »

Did I scare you off the PK100 on CFUK hahaha. I am intrigued about the cast burr and the geometry of the Lab Sweet as well coming from the 98mm flat.

Can anyone describe the 83mm LS vs something like 98mm EK43?

TheodorAdorno

#125: Post by TheodorAdorno »

longpvo wrote:Did I scare you off the PK100 on CFUK hahaha.
Yeah you did!

Actually, you definitely made me pause and then I thought more about obtaining a grinder that gave me something other than the clarity of the Ceado Hero and Titus Nautilus I'm already using. On reflection, I reckoned that the Compak wouldn't be different enough. I am hoping the Ditting's flavour profile is as good as its reputation, and I should know by the end of the week with a bit of luck.