Dialing in your grinder every day ?

Grinders are one of the keys to exceptional espresso. Discuss them here.
aabushan

Postby aabushan » Feb 10, 2019, 9:50 am

Hi All,

I am new to espresso , I usually make 2 milk drinks and 1 espresso every day. When i got a new batch of beans i usually dial in the grinder for the perfect shot, however the next day the shot is usually slower and i have to dial the grinder again.

do you dial your grinder everyday ? or what is your routine ?

def

Postby def » Feb 11, 2019, 9:34 am

Once I have dialed in a particular coffee, I typically only need to make minor tweaks to dose or grind setting as that batch of coffee ages post-roast. Typically, I might need to grind a touch finer or slightly increase dose as the coffee beans age. If there is a problem with taste, or if I did not quite dial in on the first day, then I will make bigger adjustments until I fix the problem. If I still cannot fix the problem, I use the remainder of that coffee for pour-over brew. Lastly, if I just want to try something different, like changing the brew ratio, then I will re-dial in. Otherwise, no.

I once talked to a barista at a local cafe whose grinder is located right next to the front door. She told me that it is very difficult to stay dialed-in during the day because of the humidity changes of the beans.

Aguirre

Postby Aguirre » Feb 11, 2019, 10:19 am

aabushan wrote:Hi All,

I am new to espresso , I usually make 2 milk drinks and 1 espresso every day. When i got a new batch of beans i usually dial in the grinder for the perfect shot, however the next day the shot is usually slower and i have to dial the grinder again.

Yes - as coffee ages and humidity changes, your grind settings will have to be adjusted.

Anyway, one thing I found interesting/curious about your experience is that you're saying the next day you're having a "slower" shot?