Bunzilla Build - Best Burrs for Pourover

Grinders are one of the keys to exceptional espresso. Discuss them here.
Jrodanapolis

#1: Post by Jrodanapolis »

Hi HBers,

I'm new to the world of home roasting, but I've got the bug and I don't see any cure in sight. I've been a long time coffee drinker, going through each wave - preground Folgers at home with my dad, blade ground Starbucks in college, and have been home roasting for a few months now on a Huky 500T, currently accompanied by a Mr. Coffee burr grinder I got on sale for $40.

First things first - what are the best burrs I can get for this thing? I know the 804's are highly praised. Is an upgrade to the lab sweets worth $100? As a chemical engineer who works in a lab daily, the "lab sweet" caught my attention, but to my remedial palate, I'm not sure it would make a huge difference. Any better options for the price out there? Maybe some SSPs?

Thank you!

flix67

#2: Post by flix67 »

First things first - what are the best burrs I can get for this thing? I know the 804's are highly praised. Is an upgrade to the lab sweets worth $100? As a chemical engineer who works in a lab daily, the "lab sweet" caught my attention, but to my remedial palate, I'm not sure it would make a huge difference. Any better options for the price out there? Maybe some SSPs?
Definitely search the forums -- I have seen many discussions about Lab Sweet vs. stock Bunn vs. SSP. I myself posted last fall!

Ditting Lab Sweet vs. Bunn burrs

I have not been able to try the Lab Sweet burrs, but the SSP silver burrs were definitely a step up over the stock Bunn burrs. Much less bitterness/astringency. It is worth the upgrade to the SSP burrs, but I can't say how different the SSP burrs will be from any other options. I highly doubt the other coatings will make any difference in grind quality (but perhaps in burr lifetime, but that doesn't matter for home use), so I wouldn't spend more for those options -- the silver will do.