Best Brewing Grinder

Grinders are one of the keys to exceptional espresso. Discuss them here.
endlesscycles

#1: Post by endlesscycles »

What is, in your opinion, the pinnacle of grinder excellence?

I would think a small scale roller mill would do, but I know of no such thing. I have no experience, but I also suspect the Compak R-140 may be the hot stuff in a Tim Allen sort of approach. Otherwise, the Mahlkonig EK-43 was used by Matt Perger to win the brewers cup last year.
-Marshall Hance
Asheville, NC

pacificmanitou

#2: Post by pacificmanitou »

endlesscycles wrote:What is, in your opinion, the pinnacle of grinder excellence?
A Mazzer Robur :lol:

but for brewing I have heard nothing but good things about the Mahlkonig Guatemala.
LMWDP #366

cannonfodder
Team HB

#3: Post by cannonfodder »

I ended up getting a Bun bulk grinder. We discussed the topic at length

Why do bulk grinders produce a superior grind for non espresso preparation?

If you do a search for bulk grinder you will get several other threads as well on the subject.
Dave Stephens

JmanEspresso

#4: Post by JmanEspresso »

If I had whatever equipment I desired:

Mahlkonig VTA 6, probably in 3 phase trim. Ive seen it in use one time. Blasted through 45grams like it was 5grams. Most consistent french press chunks Ive seen, and as close to 100% dust free as possible.

Im sure many of the top Mahlkonig/Dittings and Compak R series are like this too, but the VTA also looks really cool :wink:

I also owned a Bunn G2 for a while. For wait I paid(ha!), and even 100times what I paid, it was amazing. I sold it to get a hottop, so while I miss it dearly..

Socalsteve

#5: Post by Socalsteve »

Vario W with the steel burr set...amazing coffee brewed in my Bunn Trifecta MB. Sometimes I actual prefer this over espresso... :D

deity6667

#6: Post by deity6667 »