Breville Barista Express to Niche Zero

Grinders are one of the keys to exceptional espresso. Discuss them here.
Zwiggy

#1: Post by Zwiggy »

Im new to the espresso world. purchased a barista express in march then decided to get the niche which finally arrived end of august. i was actually planning to get the decent as well but i'm struggling a bit with this niche and its made me think twice about upgrading the machine now...

I've tried a couple different bags of beans now and I'm finding the taste to actually be worse for me than using the inbuilt grinder. This is the taste with lattes in particular as that's exclusively what i drink. I generally like typical dark roast flavours, nutty, chocolatey, sweet and found with the BE the drinks tasted like they had a bit more flavour and a nice nutty/ chocolate after taste. With the Niche the drinks seem a bit flat with a more earthy aftertaste. Difficult to describe really. Having said that i do sometimes taste the espresso before adding the milk and the espressos do taste better and more balanced.

Has anyone ever had a similar experience? Is this even possible? I was expecting a big improvement to be honest. I see there are only three possibilities

1) I always used to add sugar to my lattes from cafes until i got the BE - could it be i got my pallet accustomed to liking the taste from this set up?
2) Could it be my workflow with the niche means my distribution is worse now? i made a makeshift funnel so i can dose straight into portafilter. i then tap a few times and slightly even out the surface with my finger before tamping. i did the same with the BE.
3) could it be something is not quite right with my niche? (at the beginning i was only moving the calibration ring mistakenly until i realised you had to move the upper ring, i haven't recalibrated but i don't think that should make a difference?)