2018 Kinu M47 Settings

Grinders are one of the keys to exceptional espresso. Discuss them here.
lingpin

#1: Post by lingpin »

Hi all, first time posting here. I've just getting started in brewing coffee. My Kinu M47 has just arrived for a few days and I've been playing around with the settings. I ordered from the official site and have it shipped to an US address. It's the version with the 4 magnets cup.

I read a lot in the forums and also from Google, people usually settle at 4.x revolutions for the V60. My M47 gives me really coarse settings, it seems to me like V60 grinds would be in the 2-3 revolutions range. But as I've said I'm new to this, I've attached some photos of the grinds below, is it comparable to your M47? I'm really confused now. Please share your settings too for french press, pour over, aeropress, espresso, etc.

1 Revolution:

2 Revolutions:

3 Revolutions:

4 Revolutions:

I have another problem with my M47 and I think it's not supposed to be like this. The anti-rotation knob part has slipped while I was grinding some coffee, it can now be detached from the main body. I've sent an email to Kinu as well but I'll have to wait for their reply after the weekend.

renatoa

#2: Post by renatoa »

The settings in Kinu grinders say nothing to anyone other than the owner, because the zero point is random, and not specified anywhere.
The first batched respected the popular convention to have zero mark where burrs touch, but after a period they made this strange decision to deliver grinders with burrs set not touching at zero, and unknown start reference.
It is supposed that a smart guy tried to turn the grinder with a powerful drill machine, having the burrs touching, destroying the burrs, was the factor to led to this decision.
Things are even more confusing if we know there are batches having 0.75 mm screw pitch, and others with 0.5 mm, as is the most recent production.

So all you have to do is experiment.