Woodworking advice for espresso machine knobs/handles/panels

Want to talk espresso but not sure which forum? If so, this is the right one.
peeschoo

#1: Post by peeschoo »

Hi everyone, P here! I'm new to woodworking and would like some advice/direction to making my own wooden knobs and panels for my Profitec Pro700. I love DIY and this machine allows for so much creativity. Thank you all in advance! :)

Wile E Coyote

#2: Post by Wile E Coyote »

You'll need to find a wood you like and a lathe. I'm not quite sure putting a link is appropriate on this board, but you can search for exotic woods and go from there. If you have a Rockler nearby, they usually have a nice selection.

I won't go down the rabbit hole of lathes. A good start is to find a local wood turning club (yes, that's a thing) or makerspace which usually have them and can help with teaching you the basics.

Rosso Corsa

#3: Post by Rosso Corsa »

Hello,

Woodturning is a very deep rabbit hole indeed! I've been turning wood for nearly 25 years... I have a lathe that weighs about 1,000 pounds and will turn up to 24" diameter work over the inbound ways and 48" over the outbound ways.

It features an electric winch lift for heavy loads (I can turn uo to 600 lb blanks between centers) and an electric over hydraulic crane for heavier/larger diameter loads that need to be mounted over the outbound ways.

Obviously you don't need a monster lathe like I have to get started. I also have two "mini lathes" that will turn 10" or 12" over the ways. Mini lathes are what most turners start with and are very affordable to obtain.

The best way to start is to join a local woodturning club. The AAW (American Association of Woodturners) has affiliated clubs all over the US and a plethora in California. You can get hands on instruction at your local club and info on local sources for exotic woods. Years ago, I spent a week driving along the Cali coast, stopping at exotic wood dealers. It was epic!