Ducting & set up for a Cormorant

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
NH

#1: Post by NH »

I'm on the waitlist for a Cormorant, should come up sometime in Feb 2023. I'm brand new to coffee roasting but like to fiddle a bit with things. I don't worry too much about a perfect cup of coffee and generally enjoy the process far more than the outcome.

I've been watching my buddy roast on his Cormorant to get an idea of what it entails. While it's probably a little more advanced than I can handle well right now, I'm happy to grow into it.

Have been thinking about where I'm going to put the machine and have settled on the mud room. It has a door out to a covered porch and used to have the exhaust duct for our old water heater (out through the ceiling and straight out of the roof) before we got a tankless.

One of the questions I had was about getting all the exhaust out of the roaster and out of the room.

In my case, that'll be up through a duct through the ceiling. This means 1 right angle and then about 8, maybe 9' including punching through the roof. A secondary exhaust fan seemed like the right way to go about it, with a bell hood positioned over a right angle exhaust coming out of the roaster and a filter between hood & fan.

I wanted to know what size exhaust fan to look at, so I picked up a DAFM3B and measured the CFM on my buddy's machine at a few different settings. I thought this forum might find the measurements useful.

Here it is as we're warming up the roaster.

The 30 second average I pulled was 37, but we saw variations up to 10 CFM more.

Here's the roaster fan on full blast, flower open, just at the drop:

It quickly went down to ~77 CFM after that during cooling.

Hope you find this useful!

Rock on,
Nik
Through hard work, victory!

Milligan
Supporter โค

#2: Post by Milligan »