Deciding How To Shop for Green Coffee

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
portafalter

#1: Post by portafalter »

How do you all shop for your green coffee?

As you can see from this post, there are a lot of places to purchase your greens. How do you all stay on top of each of the different green coffee sources?
I find it to be overwhelming to troll through all the shops and almost always experience some level of "buyers remorse" when I purchase some greens, thinking I'll find better beans or a cheaper deal elsewhere.

Does anyone else experience this? Does anyone have advice for monitoring all these different vendors?

luca
Team HB

#2: Post by luca »

There's a lot of chicken-and-egg on this.

For starters, I have no idea how experienced you are, so, apologies if some of this is too dumbed down, but let's make it useful for everyone.

It kind of depends a bit on how much you know about roasting and how much you know about green coffee. If you don't have a framework for either, then you should learn about different coffees first, because you cannot understand different coffees unless they are roasted well. Otherwise how will you know if the thing you don't like about them is because of bad roast instead of bad green? So this rather suggests that everyone needs to start by tasting commercial roasted coffee, not by roasting their own. So you need to at least learn enough about coffee to have some general view on if you want like brazil pulp naturals or washed kenyans or whatever. You need to have some frame of reference of what the green coffee is contributing.