Littlecoffee's list of obvious yet not obvious tips

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
LittleCoffee

#1: Post by LittleCoffee »

I'm coming up to my anniversary of starting out on my espresso journey. Over that time, I've watched countless videos on technique which have left me a bit disappointed at how many "obvious" things are left out of the vast bulk of videos for you to figure out for yourself. So, I thought I'd write LittleCoffee's list of obvious but not obvious tips to try and help absolute beginners progress quicker than they would figuring it all out from YouTube and this forum. This isn't a complete guide - there's plenty of better sources for that - just helpful things I don't think are readily available.

Most of these are somewhere on the scale between objective truth and personal opinion, so not all will agree. Please read in the spirit of my writing it - to help absolute beginners get better quicker with advice I've figured out for myself which I haven't found readily available.

Espresso Tips

1. Buy a notepad and keep it next to the machine. Write every shot down.
Espresso is about perfecting consistency. Unless you're doing 100s of shots a day I think you'll really struggle to improve quickly unless you write everything down. Coffee beans literally age every day and the path to getting consistently good espresso day in day out requires you to get a feel for how much you need to compensate with your grind setting for this process. I can't imagine how one could do that without a notepad. You can write as much or as little as you want down. Personally, I write the date, days since the beans were roasted and unfrozen if relevant, the grind setting, extraction temp, coffee dose in grams, espresso weight in grams, extraction time and my taste of extraction on a scale of 1-5 (1 being very under extracted, 5 very over extracted).

2. Print and paste these two pictures in the cover of your notepad.