An almost blundered experience of a La Pavoni Europiccola restoration, and some things not to do.

A haven dedicated to manual espresso machine aficionados.
Iakouben

#1: Post by Iakouben »

Hey everyone! This is my first time posting here after doing a lot of lurking. I got into espresso just over a year ago with a Delonghi Dedica EC685 and my fall into the rabbit hole began. I quickly upgraded to a Rancilio Silvia V6 and a Eureka Mignon grinder and the tinkering phase started. PID, pressure gauge, dimmer and other minor mods to the Silvia later, I felt like I maxed out what I'm willing to do with it. Upgrade-itis and tinker-itis started to intensify. So this is where the main story starts and I decide to get an old Europiccola to restore.

TL;DR. The following is a verbal soup of my experience so far accompanied by some failure. If you like tinkering and restoring things a La pavoni restoration will definitely scratch that itch. Be prepared to drop a little more money than you initially expect to do a good job, especially if you're pedantic. Do NOT try to wet sand the chrome on a La Pavoni lever, it's not worth it, there are better ways to do it, such as sand blasting and taking it to a professional plater, the money spent on it is worth it over the nerves and energy lost.

I live on an island where coffee culture largely centres around Freddo Espresso and Frappe (blended instant Nescafé) so finding a used Europiccola locally was very unlikely, meaning that eBay was the likeliest option. I found what looked like a decent condition pre millennium version for a good price, seemingly a v2.6 but with a brass piston, manufactured in April 2000. The seller straight up mentioned that it had some rust on the base and would need a gasket replacement to get it running again, so I jumped onto the opportunity.