Help with Gicar pin assignment

Equipment doesn't work? Troubleshooting? If you're handy, members can help.
andyd

#1: Post by andyd »

I have a Cimbali Junior from the late 90s. The machine was serviced as needed and over the years technicians have replaced the pressurestat, descaled it etc. We moved this May and the machine developed problems with leaks. Randomly water would leak out in an unpredictable fashion. A local technician replaced the boiler solenoid. This worked for a few days and the problem resumed. I noticed that the leak was coming from the overflow tube coming from the loser (the type with the multiple rods). I returned it to the shop and he changed the solenoid on the doser. Once again, this did not fix the problem.
Around this time I started reading about this machine here and saw that this type of problem could be related to a faulty Gicar. I asked the technician about this and he said he didn't think that was possible - his reply was that he hoped that wasn't the issue since that Gicar is no longer manufactured. Based on my readings on the site, looked for a Gicar replacement.
The original Gicar in the unit has a Cimbali part number of 531.691.300 and it was apparently replaced by the 531.691.308 with a Gicar part number of 9.1.19.79. No one sells this part any longer but Brooks Parts in the Netherlands (super responsive and helpful!) had a compatible replacement RL30/3ES/F-G, Gicar part 9.1.29.01G which I purchased.
When I opened the box today I was dismayed to find that the pins are labeled and arranged differently. The original has 9 pins in a row, the new unit has 2 rows, one with 6 pins and one with 3 pins. Unfortunately the diagrams and labeling are completely different. I've seen the various posted schematics (as well as the "Glossary"), but they're not helpful in identifying which pin on the new Gicar corresponds to which function. I'm attaching a photo of the original Gicar in the machine and the new one.