Do my fellow NY people use anything other than tap water

Water analysis, treatment, and mineral recipes for optimum taste and equipment health.
chockfullofbutts

#1: Post by chockfullofbutts »

Hi
Just wondering what people in NYC use. When I got my first E61 machine I tested my TDS and I got about 50 on my meter, which I understand is perfect.
I don't have too much build up in my kettle or other machines, but wondering what other people do and what some of the best cafes use if anyone knows?

NicoNYC

#2: Post by NicoNYC »

Can't speak for anyone but myself, but I have been using NYC tap water with no problems for a few years now. I'm curious to see the other responses here, especially if someone knows what some of the better coffee shops are doing to their water.

Here is last years' water quality report put out by the DEP, you can see both the average and range of the test values for a number of minerals and microbes. https://www1.nyc.gov/assets/dep/downloa ... report.pdf The values are within the specified max from various sources (inc. La Marzocco), I think if anything our water is a little on the soft side.
LMWDP #718

another_jim
Team HB

#3: Post by another_jim »

There's the prize winning NYC tap water from the Finger Lakes, which is pretty perfect for coffee; but you only get it in parts of Manhattan and Brooklyn. Other places get much less grand water from Jersey. The Fingerlakes water is around 50 TDS; the Jersey water around 150. You can also check with the local web sites for the water source for your neighborhood.
Jim Schulman

martuney
Supporter ❤

#4: Post by martuney »

another_jim wrote:There's the prize winning NYC tap water from the Finger Lakes, which is pretty perfect for coffee; but you only get it in parts of Manhattan and Brooklyn. Other places get much less grand water from Jersey. The Finger lakes water is around 50 TDS; the Jersey water around 150. You can also check with the local web sites for the water source for your neighborhood.