Natural Kintamani and Washed Blue Moon

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
Ron

#1: Post by Ron »

I've been ordering natural Kintamani green coffee for several years from Happy Mug and it's always been excellent. However, they are now out of Bali coffee and I did a search to find another source. Theta Ridge came up in my search and I received 10 lbs. of a coffee they called "Bali Kintamani." Since Happy Mug states that the natural bean is called "Kintamani" and the washed is "Blue Moon," I assumed that I was getting the natural from Theta Ridge. Well, I just roasted a batch and I could tell it was the washed variety because of the absence of chaff and the dark green color. The natural has lots of chaff and has a lighter green color. I can't reach them by phone so I'm putting the message here for now. I first have to see if I like the washed as much as the natural and if I want it. For now, I'm wondering if it's mislabeling to called the washed Blue Moon "Kintamani," or if that name only applies to the natural bean I wanted. I'm not sure it would be cost effective to send it back and I'm not sure if Theta Ridge will recognize this labeling as a mistake. Any views on this?

yakster
Supporter ♡

#2: Post by yakster »

There's plenty of search results for Bali Kintamani Washed Coffee, so given that the name Kintamani is the region that the coffee is from it looks like you can have both washed and natural Kintamani coffee.
-Chris

LMWDP # 272

Ron (original poster)

#3: Post by Ron (original poster) »

I just had a chance to have an espresso with the Bali washed coffee. It turned out to be excellent but not the same taste as the natural. A little brighter with more "acid" but lots of flavor like the natural.