Bezzera Strega Top Plumb In Issue

A haven dedicated to manual espresso machine aficionados.
mrgnomer

#1: Post by mrgnomer »

Want to share this TOP plumb in experience in case it helps. Sorry if it's been shared already.

I am new to serious spring lever extraction. Liking the Strega a lot. Got it at a good shipping damage discount. Nothing seemingly more than aesthetic damage.

After a couple weeks of running tank only I just plumbed it in. Needed to transition from the braided line to a 3/8" OD pvc line. Looks like the braided line end is 3/8" NPT Female. Is that right?

NPT male to 3/8" OD compression works as an adapter. Did all of the transition steps and connected the line. No leaks, steady 22 psi flow regulated line pressure...all looked good.

This morning on the flush the vibe pump was overly loud. Sounded like a dry running pump. A bit of steaming water came out, dried up then no water. Lever went back up with no water. Weird.

Pulled a shot: seemingly no preinfusion pressure build up. Released the lever and no resistance until almost to the top. Double pulled to get more volume. The shot was surprisingly ok.

Tried another shot. Same no preinfusion, limited grouphead fill.

Anyone have this problem after plumbing the Strega Top in?

Reluctantly I got the tools ready to take the supply line/machine apart and find out what the problem was. Line pressure good, pump engaging, boiler filling...why is the HX line seemingly full while idling but the pump running dry with little water going through the HX during a pull. Is the line plugged? Is the solenoid valve stuck. What.

Before taking the machine apart I thought to give the flush one more chance. After all, line pressure should be going through the HX and if you pull the lever down to open the grouphead feed a steady flow of line pressure water should come out.