Rocket Appartamento Scale Buildup

Equipment doesn't work? Troubleshooting? If you're handy, members can help.
Barista Ali

#1: Post by Barista Ali »

I have a Rocket Appartamento since 2019.

I do regular backflush. I use Nestle 5 Gallon bottled water to fill the tank.

I have never done a descaling before.

So this week I decided to do a descaling by a professional technician.

The technician told me that there are a lot of scale buildup and the boiler is damaged and needs to be replaced.

I use the machine everyday and I make 3 cups on average.

I am just wondering how to avoid this problem from happening again because the costs of replacing the boiler is around 25% of the cost of the machine.

Please advise.

Thanks

Marcelnl

#2: Post by Marcelnl »

All I see is scale and salt crust on the outside, which means there was a leak for quite some time, saying the boiler needs to be replaced based on this is a bit strange since scale would be present on the inside of the boiler and on the heating element.
Should be possible to salvage the boiler by removing it, descaling, looking at the root cause of the leak/leaks and brazing any holes...unless the boiler became so thin it makes no sense to repair.

These days repair usually involves replacing parts, something like a boiler can be repaired. Yet do investigate your water composition befor using the machine again, it may be acidic, may have too much minerals and you may want to revert to destilled water with some Potassium Bicarbonate added (RPavlis recipe) if you do not want to have to worry about scale.
LMWDP #483

Nunas
Supporter ♡

#3: Post by Nunas »