What variables to change dialing in a new bean?

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
Micahdesign

#1: Post by Micahdesign »

Hello, new to roasting on a Quest M3 and would like to know what you mostly change to test different profiles on a new bean?

I want to do 3 back to back roasts and end up at about a light/medium range (about 410-415 drop temp I'm liking so far).

To keep things somewhat simple, would you charge at 3 different temps, keeping total time, dev time and drop temp same? Or same charge temp, same drop temp but 3 different dev times, or different total roast Time?

I just did 3 roasts on a bean, same charge temp, same drop temp, each were about 30 seconds longer and various development 20% - 25% but all three just ended tasting the same (good enough) and I'm not experienced enough to see the probably subtle flavor changes.

I don't want to purposely roast anything to taste terrible, just trying to learn how to slowly change things depending on the bean.

Maybe a side question do you have 1 "default" profile you find works well on most beans and only tweaking when something tastes off? (Maybe 2 or 3 other default profiles for like Brazil or naturals)

Thanks!!

mkane
Supporter ♡

#2: Post by mkane »

Try altering middle phase since dev. didn't do much. wish I could be of more help.

Roastings always a struggle and one of the reasons why it's enjoyable.

Almico

#3: Post by Almico »

Drop temp is the most significant variable affecting coffee flavors. You found that out when you roasted 3 batches and changed everything but drop temp. To use an out dated radio reference, drop temp is like dialing in the station you want to listen to; most other variables just fine tune the reception.