When to adjust temperature for pour over coffee?

Coffee preparation techniques besides espresso like pourover.
Elemsee

#1: Post by Elemsee »

What are the signs that show it would be beneficial to adjust temperature in a pour over method?

I recently experienced a filter coffee I made that had elements of harshness/a bit of a sharp bite (is this due to temp?), as well as a grassy quality that I typically associate with needing to grind finer (but I am not an expert). The brew did have a great body, and some peach notes still shined through. It was definitely drinkable but I'd like to understand how to maximize this coffee.

Question: Would the adjustments to combat these results be a combination of dropping temperature to reduce the "sharp bite", and also grind a notch or two finer to fix the grassy quality?

Details:
- Coffee was Luna's Techno Peach offering - Ethiopia origin, 3 weeks off roast
- 21 clix on C40
- Temp 208 deg F
- Device was a Kalita Wave 155, Hasami sandstone (pretty fast)
- 13:200
--- 40 g Bloom
--- 80g pour (40 circular, 40 center), in about 10 sec
-- 80 g pour (40 circular, 40 center), in about 12-15 sec

tennisman03110

#2: Post by tennisman03110 »

Personally, from experience only, temperature is the last item to adjust. Especially if it's a light roasted bean, just off boiling is probably going to be a good starting point.

If anything, I'd think you want a higher temperature. The sharp bite (sour?) is opposite bitterness.

You' might try grinder finer, increasing the ratio to 1:17. Extract more from the coffee. At some point you'll reach a bitter wall, but it sounds like you could push the extraction further, and hence get more flavor from the beans.

MikeTheBlueCow

#3: Post by MikeTheBlueCow »