Grinder to build a sensible workflow (~$1000 budget)

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
duccio

#1: Post by duccio »

Hey guys,

I am on the market for an espresso grinder and would love to hear seasoned home baristi's thoughts.

So I got ECM Synchronika for a month and I am going through about 4 lbs bean now.
Up to this day, I use a Taiwan-made Molar X to grind my beans.
A bit bio of Molar X: 83mm conical burr set at 30RPM
Yes, it is a very unique design that has a very specific workflow and cup profile in mind.

I had been doing pour-over and siphon for two decades.
Until now I started doing espresso, I realize some concepts can be applied here but the margins for error are really thin in espresso.

Some background so you guys can understand where I am now:
I have a friend reviewing my pulls and giving me feedback.
He has been tremendous help to get me where I am.
I am getting the hang of it.
However, there is a limit for how much you can do through video and calls.
So here I am.

So I know the ropes of dialing in.
I understand the concept of shape, fineness, roast quality of coffee all factor in in "creating an even resistance to pressureized water (D.C. Schomer)."
Target brewing time, ratio...

WORKFLOW
So here is the workflow of preparing the coffee in the PF:

1. Dosing:
- the clearance under the chute and the base of Molar is too low to dose the coffee directly into PF (especially mine is angled handle)
- Weber Workshop Blind Shaker is critical in my current workflow: it receives the coffee from the chute and keep the coutner clean

2. Distribution;
- Shake the Blind Shaker to even out any clump
- Tap: vertically on the tamping pad, sideways with my wrist while sitting the Blind Shaker on top of the PF
- Drop coffee into PF by pulling the plug
- Grooming with Stockfleth-ish methods to make sure the surface are as even as possible

3. Tamping: