La Cimbali Junior D/1 rebuilding dosing control knob

Equipment doesn't work? Troubleshooting? If you're handy, members can help.
mclearn

#1: Post by mclearn »

Hi all. Long-time lurker, first time poster.

I have a La Cimbali Junior D/1, circa 1993 or so that I have been hard at work rebuilding. Dating it is hard to tell because there are no obvious dates on the labels under the drip tray. (The heater element brass fitting has a date stamp of 1993 which is the only definitive thing I can go on. This is the D/1 model with the 4 coffee doses selectable via a knob on the front panel.

I recently had everything removed and carefully cleaned. The frame was sandblasted and powder coated and it looks great. Excited to put it together and I was putting all of the the electrics back together this weekend. After attaching the knobs to the front, I experimented to make sure they worked well and unfortunately the "dose selector" knob was extremely sticky.

For reference, the knob is pictured below connected into the system.

So I did what any reasonable person might do who just spent a long time ripping apart every other system, and I opened that too. Unfortunately, it was booby-trapped with springs and small brass pieces. I managed to rebuild all of the bits, and I tried to infer the correct orientation of the internals, but I cannot determine if I got it all back together again. I wanted to use the wiring diagram to help determine if I had it correct. Here's the wiring diagram from another post on HB:

Does anyone know how to test the knob selector to make sure it is selecting properly relative to the printed dosing on the front cover? The wiring diagram suggests that R has a significant role to play. However, continuity testing with R and the dosing rods in the chamber gives me strange results.