Any collection of coffee dialling settings?

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
martinlhoff

#1: Post by martinlhoff »

New here, new to levers (with an EPC-8 + Mignon Notte). Geek by trade. Dialled in one coffee blend. Trying to dial in the second one and... Isn't there a table somewhere listing equipment, settings, ratios and coffees?

Not as a Bible but as reference points.

Do coffee geeks keep notes on their dial in results for a given equipment + coffee? Does anyone publish them?

Wantboost

#2: Post by Wantboost »

I keep my own of coffees I have tried. So when I buy them again I have a reference. But with so many different grinders and machines I doubt will be useful for u

martinlhoff (original poster)

#3: Post by martinlhoff (original poster) »

Once there's enough entries, it'll get to a point where it is useful. If I buy same coffees as you, and coffee A needed 2 steps finer grind than B, I'll know how to start dialling coffee A or coffee B.

#4: Post by martinlhoff (original poster) »

We could aggregate some notes. Here's my initial foray

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/ ... sp=sharing

NicoNYC

#5: Post by NicoNYC »

The main issues I see with trying to aggregate different peoples' experience is that there are just so many variables going into it, many of which can be measured and communicated, but many of which can't. It's like trying to conduct a science experiment where you're changing all the variables at once and trying to make meaningful observations.
- Coffee freshness, which is many-fold: how long from roasting to opening the bag, how long from bag open to grinding, how was it stored after opening?
- Grinder calibration. Some grinders allow some sort of "zero-ing", many don't. What about burr wear and alignment?
- Humidity levels in your kitchen