Hobart 66420 single grinder

Equipment doesn't work? Troubleshooting? If you're handy, members can help.
Carlosgenco

#1: Post by Carlosgenco »

Hi! I'm from Argentina and I'm restoring an old coffee grinder from Hobart. My grinder is almost complete but I think that one or two pieces are missing. Have somebody information (pictures, or documents) about this model or some related? Enclosed are some pictures of my machine (name plate and parts being cleaned)

Thanks a lot!

harrisonpatm

#2: Post by harrisonpatm »

Please don't take my word as law, because I'm not an expert in all the myraid variations of vintage Hobart models. I have restored several old Hobart coffee grinders thought, and unfortunately, from what I can tell from the pictures, what you have is the old Hobart meat grinder, not coffee. The main motor section on both is similar, as you'll see from the pic I pulled off a quick google search below.

Like I said, I could be wrong. What Hobart did back then was take the same motor and use a number of iron castings for the front to turn the motor into either a coffee or meat grinder. They're great motors, my restaurant uses one regularly for filter coffee.

From the picture you sent, it looks like the big round gear is the gear differential to take the high speed motor and turn it into the slower speed meat grinder. The Hobart coffee grinders, while they use the same big red motor, don't use the gear reduction; the burr is directly connected to the rotor shaft.

For clarification, could you send a couple pics of the machine as a whole? It would give me a better idea of exactly which model it is.

Carlosgenco (original poster)

#3: Post by Carlosgenco (original poster) »