Lelit Bianca 2 - Consistent puck erosion from shower screen

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
Javarick

#1: Post by Javarick »

I've had the Lelit Bianca 2 for ~ 6 months. I've been doing home espresso for 29 years and have been through a Domena Splendida, Rancilio Silvia, La Cimbali M27, Wega Mininova, and La Spaziale Mini Vivaldi 2, so I'm not inexperienced.

I like the Lelit Bianca except for one small annoyance. Pucks in my 18 gr basket (the only one I use) always seem to be eroded in the middle of the top surface, resulting in a small indentation with a circle of small, deeper erosion pits in it. My work process is to weigh and grind 18.5 grams from an empty hopper, dump into the PF with a PF funnel, even out the dose by tapping the PF, level with the Lelit leveler, tamp lightly, then pull the shot.

My standard grinder is a Sette, and on occasion, I use my Kinu Phoenix. It's the same for both.

This seems to happen consistently no matter what the grinder, grind setting, tamp or dose. I haven't experienced this with any other espresso machine.

Any suggestions? New precision shower screen perhaps?

If so, how do I find out what fits the Bianca 2 without pulling the old one?

PIXIllate
Supporter ♡

#2: Post by PIXIllate »

Do a Nickle test for headspace and lower your dose.

Javarick (original poster)

#3: Post by Javarick (original poster) »

Thanks, and I should have initially posted I'd done a nickel test after the first few shots to see what was causing it. It's an 18 gram basket and I still get the pattern with 17 grams.

PIXIllate
Supporter ♡

#4: Post by PIXIllate »

Dose less until there is no nickle imprint.

HB
Admin

#5: Post by HB »

Javarick wrote:I like the Lelit Bianca except for one small annoyance. Pucks in my 18 gr basket (the only one I use) always seem to be eroded in the middle of the top surface, resulting in a small indentation with a circle of small, deeper erosion pits in it.