La Marzocco Linea Micra - Page 103

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
meshkaffe

#1021: Post by meshkaffe »

Thanks for your review and latest data on machine finish. What's lead time like now on stainless micras?

Contemplating taking my pro300 to work and replacing with micra at home now.

dfuller

#1022: Post by dfuller »

I've been looking at a Micra as an upgrade from my tricked out Silvia Pro, mostly for more steam power. The screwy arm is messing with me though, I'm very used to the full length wand on my current machine... Do we have any opinions on that or should I just pony up for a Mini (and figure out how to fit that behemoth on my counter)?

Jake_G
Team HB

#1023: Post by Jake_G »

The included pitcher with the Micra works perfectly fine with the shorter steam wand and it is actually slightly larger than the pitcher I've been using for the last 12 years.

I see the Micra steam wand as a solid non-issue unless you are trying to use a 20Oz pitcher and making massive milk drinks. I find it akin to hopping into a new car with a manual transmission and adjusting to the engage point of the clutch. Maybe it engages a little closer to the floor than you're used to, but if you know how to drive a stick you adapt to it and quickly move on. Same thing with the wand. I have a very long and straight wand on the GS/3. If anything, the bend in the Micra wand actually helps, because it basically ensures that the tip is submerged at the right level for perfect microfoam.

Cheers!

- Jake
LMWDP #704

AGramata

#1024: Post by AGramata »