Let's Unbox a Monolith Conical!

Grinders are one of the keys to exceptional espresso. Discuss them here.
dgia

#1: Post by dgia »

I know this isn't the first Monolith unboxing thread, but I thought I'd add some contrast to my EG-1 unboxing thread: Let's Unbox an EG-1!

I've been using the EG-1 with a Dalla Corte Mina for about 5 months. It's an absolute masterpiece, though, like anything else, it's not perfect. I have been very happy with it, however.

I somehow managed to get pre-orders in for Monolith Flat and Conical. Monolith Conical shipped early and arrived today. I expect Monolith Flat to arrive in April. My intent here is just to share some pictures of the unboxing experience as well as a few initial thoughts from someone a few hours into a Monolith experience. I do hope to put all three grinders side-by-side in April or May and do a subjective comparison. Socratic has already handled the objective part.

The Pre-Purchase Experience

I think everyone knows that it's not easy to get your hands on a Monolith. Like the EG-1, it costs an absolute fortune. For those of us who think it's worth the price of a decent car, the next problem is actually getting a pre-order in. I'll admit that I found myself frustrated with the ordering system, but Denis really doesn't owe anyone anything. He sells as many grinders as he can make and clearly prioritizes quality over volume. I do appreciate that, as frustrating as it was to get my hands on one.

I found Denis to be extremely responsive. I never had to wait long to get an clear answer to a question, and never felt as if anyone was doing me a special favor. Service is very good here.