La Cimbali Junior D1 frustration!

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
chomergir

#1: Post by chomergir »

Hi all,
I got a Cimbali junior D from the early 90' (vibe' pump, no pre-infusion), I'm using it for about a year now and don't manage to get a descent cup of espresso!
I read all about it here and in other forums including the excellent posts of Ken Fox and tried the flushing regime advised here also, all with no success of reaching a reasonable cup of coffee (I score an average of 2 according to HB scoring...)
I tried everything, all sorts of grinds and grinders, coffee beans from all around the world, all method of distribution and redistribution, blind PF and much more...
I'm on the verge of replacing it to an E61 DB machine, please help! I do like her...

bobpaule

#2: Post by bobpaule »

What is your grinder? Without an $300-1000 espresso grinder there will be no good shots.
Also do you grind 3-10 days after roasting?
Your grinder needs dialed in, meaning you will waste up to 1/2lb of coffee until you get those crema rich
28s shots. To eliminate more variables, you will need to use gram scales and a training graded shot glass to achieve predictable shots.

Your machine is more than competent, I suggest you descale it with citric acid which is abundant in your neck of the woods.

Salaam!
Never get between a man and his ristretto, ever!

cuppajoe

#3: Post by cuppajoe »

I rebuilt a Cimbali Jr and used it for several months and made very good espresso and capps. These are reliable commercial machines and have been used in countless cafes. The grinder I used was a Lelit(Isomac), well south of $300. Also paired it with a Lido 2 and various box grinders. I found it to be a forgiving machine.