Sea level to 2000 meters, extraction all wrong.

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
kiboker

#1: Post by kiboker »

I'm a self taught barista but have been running a cafe for 3 years successfully in a beach town. I have a Coatepec coffee that I've been very pleased with (medium-dark roast). Recently though I moved to open a new shop at about 2000 meters up and the flavor has been quite disappointing. I started diagnosing and tweaking and discovered that a 14 gram double was pushing 45-50 gram shots and wouldn't improve despite of how I adjusted the grind. I finally got the flavor and weight I was looking for (28ish) BUT at a half oz per shot. I've tried higher dosing, different grinds, none is yielding a better result than a half volume shot. Any recommendations?

I use a la pavoni Bar M2.

MB

#2: Post by MB »

Have you ruled out water differences as a potential issue? Also, altitude can play havoc on temperatures for heating water.
LMWDP #472

Stanic

#3: Post by Stanic »

I live at 1000 m asl. and water in a kettle boils at 97 degrees Celsius..not sure about pressurised boilers but there has to be some effect

avid

#4: Post by avid »

MB wrote:Have you ruled out water differences as a potential issue? Also, altitude can play havoc on temperatures for heating water.
At 2000 meters water boils at 200 degrees or 93.3 celsius.

MB

#5: Post by MB »

I did a quick search on "altitude" on this site and from what I saw, you might want to check that out.

If that's not the answer, though, I would still recommend checking the water to see if it's making things difficult.
LMWDP #472

kiboker (original poster)

#6: Post by kiboker (original poster) »

If it is the water temp, is that adjustable?

engineeredbrew

#7: Post by engineeredbrew replying to kiboker »