Isomac portafilter not venting pressure

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
WouterB

#1: Post by WouterB »

Hi all,
I am new to this site but as I am having a problem with my machine i am hoping someone can assist.

I have a Isomac la mondiale purchase in 2010 in perth from Espresso italia in North Perth.
I have done all the repairs on my machine over the last 6 years as I am an electrical contractor with some back ground in fault finding, if I had taken my machine in for repairs when needed, then the cost would have been more than the purchase price, and I would have replaced it with something else.

I recently replaced the water tank fill solenoid assembly as it failed and wouldn't fill the tank, plus I replaced the dual pressure gauge as it seemed to be stuck on one reading, since this last repair the following fault occurs.

The machine delivers the espresso shot ok except when I stop the shot it used to vent some pressure from a drain near the tray, this no longer happens as the portafilter seems to still have pressure in it after the shot is finished pouring, plus instead of venting pressure in the form of steam from the lower drain some water comes out, but pressure still remains in the portafilter ?

I have emailed isomac in italy but as yet they haven't replied, not so sure about their grasp of english or their attitude to answering fault questions online.

It may be not related to my recent repair but I cant work out whats wrong, if I wait about 3 or 4 minutes after the shot has finished pouring then the pressure is gone.

thank you in advance
WouterB

drgary
Team HB

#2: Post by drgary »

Usually a three way valve releases the pressure in the brew path. Did you do your repair with stock parts? Added: Wrong direction. See Alan Frew and Dan Kehn's suggestion below to inspect and/or rebuild the e61 group.
Gary
LMWDP#308

What I WOULD do for a good cup of coffee!

WouterB (original poster)