Best Ceramic Teapot (for coffee use!)

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
CathyWeeks

#1: Post by CathyWeeks »

A bit of background - I seem to break glass and ceramic coffee equipment ridiculously easily. In the last 5 years or so, I've broken my smallest Chemex, two glass teapots (the lid fell off during pouring), and now I just broke the lid of my ceramic teapot that I've been using for the last 3 years with good results. It's this: http://www.amazon.com/RSVP-Cherry-Stone ... 000UGTJBA/

This teapot is pretty good, and I could just replace it with the exact same one. But I'd love one that has a better spout (this one drips a little, but not bad), and more importantly, heavier with more thermal mass to hold the water temperature even longer.

You may be wondering how I use a teapot for coffee brewing - it's specifically to heat my water in the microwave. I measure the right amount of water in a measuring cup, then pour it into a ceramic teapot, put the lid on, and put it in the microwave. With experimentation, I figured out the right amount of time to microwave it to get it right into the 195-ish range (and how to vary it depending on time of year +/- 15 seconds). I liked the ceramic best, because it did the best job of keeping my water at the right temperature for long enough to brew my coffee. I'd always planned to knit a cozy for it, but hadn't gotten around to it (knitting is slow!). Most often, I use an immersion method for brewing (Duo Coffee Steeper or a Sowdon Softbrew, though there's a FP kickstarter that I'm considering backing).