Newbie trying to take first steps into brewing

Coffee preparation techniques besides espresso like pourover.
Mitch897

#1: Post by Mitch897 »

Hello All!

I am brand new to this forum and brand new to the different ways to brew coffee. I have been watching videos and reading online for a week now about different methods of brewing coffee. I am hooked, but I need some help making my first ever purchase! I am a college student and because of that I only can spend 150-200$ total. I also have only drank coffee out of the keurig and an automatic dripper. I enjoy my coffees black and pungent with a good body. That being said I was looking into french press's and pour-overs. Here is where my problem arises. I don't think I want an automatic grinder, since I don't have a high budget, counter-space, and I am trying to be quiet. I read online manual grinders have difficulty making a consistent coarse ground which you need for french press. Onto pour-overs however. I do not own a gooseneck kettle and really don't want to buy one. Reason being is I do have a breville one touch tea-maker, which I thought would be perfect for controlling my water temperature for brewing :!:. Of course the breville has a wider mouth at the top, which from what I have read isn't good for pour-overs since you want to control the flow. With all that being said I am wondering:
-What grinders do you recommend
-Which method of brewing would produce a good hit you in the face coffee
-What French press or pour-over do you recommend
And any tips or anything else would be helpful :D

Advertisement
weebit_nutty

#2: Post by weebit_nutty »

Welcome to HB