Mazzer Major + Gralab 450? Will it work?

Grinders are one of the keys to exceptional espresso. Discuss them here.
jchung

#1: Post by jchung »

So I'm continuing to work on my project Mazzer Major. Its been converted from doser to doserless. And now I'm looking at getting a timer for it. I understand that Auber has several timers that will work, but they seem to require a bit more wiring than using a Gralab 450. Unfortunately it looks like the Gralab 450 is rated for a max 600W load. Give the motor in the Major is 650W, will the Gralab 450 work? If not, is there a way to get the Gralab 450 to work? e.g. I've read about a guy using an SSR to use the Gralab 450 with his Robur. But I'm not sure about the specs for an SSR to use with the Gralab 450 and a higher rated grinder.

Thanks!

Marcelnl

#2: Post by Marcelnl »

Not sure if it will damage anything but my major is running from a 80ies Philips darkroom timer, totally analog and definitely not rated for 650W. If the SSR has a high enough rating you should be fine but I imagine it's OK without too unless you run your major for long periods (like In a business)
LMWDP #483

turtle

#3: Post by turtle »

which major do you have timer or manual?

If it is the standard on/off you should be fine.

If it is a timer version you might have issues with a DR timer.

Auber makes a different timer unit for the timer model as well as one for the manual type grinders

I've run my super jolly on both auber and gralab 450 without issues. Gralab is a bit of a PITA as it "forgets" everything when you power it down so each time you turn it on you have to set up the clock/timing back to fraction of seconds (default is second count down which is not too good for hitting your target weight)

Auber is a SSR type switching unit.
Mick - Drinking in life one cup at a time
I'd rather be roasting coffee

jchung (original poster)

#4: Post by jchung (original poster) »

Mick,