Recent posts

by godlyone
less than a minute ago
Forum: Repairs, Restorations & Mods
Replies: 9
Views: 221

Rio Lisa Junior

Nice job - pid install looks good but agree that it may not like the heat up there I did a restore on a very similar machine: "Astoria SAE Junior (CMA/Laurentis/RIO) Refurbish Log" The pid is not very useful for this machine since it's a heat exchanger You need to flush the group head before pulling a
by howard seth
2 minutes ago
Forum: Coffee Roasting
Replies: 21
Views: 660

Highest chance of success - roasters

I've been roasting at home for 20 years - different roasters - not the really expensive ones - though my current original model Behmor is not really cheap, like a modified popcorn roaster would be. They have a few of those poppers at Sweet Maria's - I may give one a try someday. I roast by ear - listening
Advertisement
by DerSchoeneBahnhof
7 minutes ago
Forum: Tips and Techniques
Replies: 36
Views: 1020

Latte Art Diagnosis

Interesting, so the push is to make more room for the ripples to come? I always get hearts that are too thick probably because lack of push
by lemmycaution217
11 minutes ago
Forum: Lever Espresso Machines
Replies: 2
Views: 19

Checking Bezzera Strega P/I and Brew Pressure with Portafilter Pressure Gauge

Thank you for the reply and the info. It is very helpful! Took a look at the manual and I see now that the relief valve is set to 12bar. I see what you mean that the pressure gauge may not be super useful most of the time. I'm thinking it would be most useful if I installed
by Jeff
23 minutes ago
Forum: Water
Replies: 32
Views: 751

Water, no scale? no corrosion? For reservoir espresso machines

I make my concentrates with baking soda and Epsom salt in RO/DI water. I mix into one-liter bottles and then pour out what I need when I make my one-liter batches of mixed water. My notes say 1.68 g/kg -- Sodium bicarbonate -- NaHCO₃ 2.46 g/kg -- Epsom salts -- MgSO₄*7H₂O Weighing out to 10 mg is
by poison
56 minutes ago