Recent Posts

by twjacobsen, 11 minutes ago in Espresso Machines
Replies: 1 Views: 26

Mara x : second shot clogging up!

I'm pretty new to the game of prosumer espresso, and have only had my MaraX for ~2 months, but from what I read the order should be almost opposite if you want most consistent temperature and most steam power (while in "X Mode", of course). My process is: 1. Pull shot 2. Clean portafilter, group, while pressure builds to ~1.5...
by Jeff, 14 minutes ago in Espresso Machines
Replies: 614 Views: 74797

Lelit MaraX

Discussion of this: "Mara x : second shot clogging up!"
by Eiern, 15 minutes ago in Coffee Brewing
Replies: 28 Views: 2180

SSP 98mm "Brewing" Burrs

I too have found out that I don't dial in pourovers by drawdown times with these burrs, it doesn't change that much. A few beans do though, I've had some beans (especially a few naturals) that are slower and kind of find them hard to brew as I don't like the taste of going much more coarser on the dial...
by Jeff, 21 minutes ago in Espresso Machines
Replies: 1 Views: 53

Espresso quality machines you know

Those thick shots are more likely due to the coffee than the machine. Classic blends tend to be thicker in body than third-wave blends. As a secondary effect, some modern, flat-burr grinders (a handful generally above $2,000 and generally with SSP burrs) tend to have less body than conical or classic flat grinders.
by renatoa, 54 minutes ago in Lever Espresso Machines
Replies: 557 Views: 46922

Odyssey Espresso (Argos Lever prototype)

Found mine in spam folder, please check yours...
by Marcelnl, Today, 3:09 am in Repairs, Restorations & Mods
Replies: 22 Views: 446

Help! Lower Burr Carrier Bolt Removal on Rio Super Automatic (aka Mazzer Major)