Espresso Machine Upgrade - Breville Dual Boiler (BDB) or Decent DE1PRO?

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
Kaldi23

#1: Post by Kaldi23 »

I'm looking to upgrade my machine, and have narrowed the field to a BDB or Decent DE1PRO. Would like to hear H-B'ers thoughts on these two machines. I currently drink espresso-only. While it's not an immediate priority, I would like to have solid steaming ability. I'm the only coffee drinker in the household - 1-3 shots per day. I am an engineer, so am comfortable with geeking on the machine. Ruled out the many E61 options due to: long heat-up times, what I percieve to be the trickery involved in adjusting shot parameters, and the bling factor, which just isn't important to me.

BDB Pros:
(1) Cost
(2) Performance - temperature control and ability to adjust pressure profile
(3) Support - both from Breville and the H-B community

BDB Cons:
(1) Reliability - repairable and serviceable, but probably not a 10-year machine
(2) Steaming performance - good, but relatively slow. Not a big deal to me atm (may not ever be)

Decent Pros:
(1) Performance and adjustability - I like infinite adjustability coupled with repeatability
(2) Form factor - simple design in a compact package
(3) Support - my impression is that Decent support is good + they appear to have a very active user's group
(4) Plumbable

Decent Cons:
(1) Risks of early adoption - my sense is the v1.1 Decents have had bugs, some of which have been addressed and some of which will be addressed with future versions. However, my worst fear: Decent stops making and supporting these machines, mine breaks, and I have an expensive paperweight
(2) Unknown reliability - no idea what's going to break and whether I will be able to service the machine myself
(3) No simultaneous brew and steam - again, not a priority to me now and may never be

Thoughts?

DaveB

#2: Post by DaveB »