Roasting coffee with "evenness" as the goal - Page 3

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
Almico (original poster)

#21: Post by Almico (original poster) »

DaveC wrote:I have actually done a lot of roasting...but I am not sure what it is you have done. So I will sign out of the thread as I don't think I will get anything useful from it.
Coffee roasters are like drivers; no one seems to think they are bad at it.

Yet there are plenty of bad drivers; and plenty of bad roasters.

I'm still learning. I've been roasting 4 or 5 years. Last year at this time I was schlepping to farmers markets selling my coffee.

Last October I designed, built and opened my first coffee bar. I roast only for my bar and do not have any desire to wholesale.

I roast my own coffee, brew my own coffee and hand it directly to every customer where I get to watch their reaction to it.

Since October I have roasted about 3500# of coffee, 5# at a time. Thats about 700 productions roasts and doesn't include sample and profiling roasts.

I have sold 11,222 drip coffees, 12,750 espresso drinks and 1253 12oz bags of coffee, not including online sales.

In a month I'll be in the black, having paid off all my start up costs.

I have a Starbucks and DDs 200 yards away, a 1950s 25kg Probat a few miles away, Diedrich 12IR down the road. These roasters have been in business many years and sell coffee to restaurants and such all around me, yet in a short time I have achieved the reputation of serving the best coffee in the area by the locals that love and appreciate great coffee as well as the tourists that tell me over and over again "this is the best coffee I've ever had" and "I haven't had espresso like this since I was in Europe".