Best bottled water for espresso machine

Water analysis, treatment, and mineral recipes for optimum taste and equipment health.
charles.park94

#1: Post by charles.park94 »

I'm pretty new to the scene (just received an espresso machine as a gift) and I saw a few threads that were on the topic but couldn't seem to find the answer. If I'm currently residing in the greater Seattle area, is there any recommendations for bottled water brands? I know La Marzocco recommends Crystal Geyser or Acqua Panna but I've also seen in the threads that some people mentioned the plant matters as well. Is there any recommendations?

And for the locals, preferably something I can easily access in Kirkland?

Thank you

redbone

#2: Post by redbone »

Try a few on the softer side, just make sure that TDS levels are no more than 150ppm.
You can always mix harder water with either R.O. or distilled to lower the total TDS .
Adjust by 20ppm at a time and go with what you prefer taste wise.

* What grinder are you using with your new machine ?
Between order and chaos there is espresso.
Semper discens.

Rob
LMWDP #549

charles.park94 (original poster)

#3: Post by charles.park94 (original poster) »

redbone wrote:Try a few on the softer side, just make sure that TDS levels are no more than 150ppm.
You can always mix harder water with either R.O. or distilled to lower the total TDS .
Adjust by 20ppm at a time and go with what you prefer taste wise.
Thanks. Are there any brands that I should consider starting with?
* What grinder are you using with your new machine ?
I've been trying to find a monolith or eg1 but haven't been successful just yet

#4: Post by charles.park94 (original poster) »

I've been browsing the used market scene. Are there any other recommendations for single dosing? Price isn't the biggest issue, per say.

redbone

#5: Post by redbone »

Water brands vary geographically. I would look at your local stores for what's available near you.