Tips for a light roast in the Behmor 1600+

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
ayevey

#1: Post by ayevey »

Hi folks,

I am a newbie roaster, and, in fact, this is my first post at HB. I have been reading many helpful and informative posts here from all of you home roasters out there for a good few months now, in anticipation of getting myself started home roasting. Thank you for all the time you put into sharing your insights with beginners like myself.

Of course, as I am sure many here know, there is a learning curve to roasting, which I imagine is compounded by the use of a Behmor, where the feedback it gives you is very rough indeed (i.e. no bean probe and temperature readings that can't possibly reflect actual temperatures). To make matters worse for me, I live in northern Mexico and the only green coffee I have available is a Pluma Hidalgo (from Oaxaca), which, though an absolutely fantastic coffee, is one I have no grower data on. The particular vendor I've got, from when I lived in Oaxaca, hardly speaks Spanish (much less English) and seems unable or unwilling to supply me any details about the bean. I do not know the altitude at which it is grown, which varietal it is, nor how it is processed. So it's all trial and error, though from looking at the bean, it seems to be hard based on the tightly closed split.

Anyway, I have roasted this bean about ten times now. The first three or four roasts came out very acidic and underdeveloped. As I got braver and pushed further into FC, though, the flavor profiles began to improve. I was able to produce a very nice light roast and a very nice medium one. However, these were all 1/4 pound roasts. I recently bumped up my charge size to half a pound, and now am not finding myself able to reproduce the light roast. It seems that even if I hit cool just at the end of FC, I still end up with a Full City+ or so.