Strategies for Maximizing Maillard/Yellow

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
treq10

#1: Post by treq10 »

Hello everyone,

I am relatively new to using a drum roaster, and I'm curious what your philosophies are on how to maximize maillard/yellow without baking or stalling the coffee.

The coffee I'm roasting now is a Rwanda Miko Remera #58 from Nordic Approach, which is a quite dense washed Bourbon that has characteristics between Kenya and Ethiopian washed coffees.

My first Roast was a medium charge with heat added gently at the turn. The yellow started a bit late and I had to rush through the Maillard to ensure that my roast doesn't go for too long. Heat was increased slightly at 7 minutes until I heard a rolling FC around 8:20. Then I dialed it back down a bit to allow a slow down during FC. This was a 700g batch on a Buckeye 2kg roaster. Drum speed at 5, fan speed at 5/10 until 7:30, at which point I raised to 7/10. FC ended about 15 secs before I dropped.

This coffee cupped 24 hours after roasting had a sharp citric acidity & sugarcane sweetness up front with a rather hollow middle but a long, syrupy finish that was wonderful albeit a little smoky (not roasty!) from being so fresh. I'm wondering if this coffee will open up quite a bit in 2-3 days to release more aromatics and balance out in acidity/sweetness due to a more efficient extraction.

***The Omron probe reads are lot of the faceplate and environment temperature, which results in the readings looking weird. For all intents and purposes, the absolute temp reading is a relative indicator of the profile and not an exact temp measurement of the beans. The wonkiness in the RoR curve comes from the times when I opened the trier to check the bean color.

---