La Cimbali M29 Select help needed

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
berkinet

#1: Post by berkinet »

I have a La Cimbali 2 group M29 Select that is about 4 years old. I rented my house to someone for 6 months and when I returned I found the machine had serious issues. The pump was very noisy, the left hand side touch-pad is "possessed" and the pressure-stat is sensing air-pressure and turning off prematurely.

I replaced the pump and the machine is now at least operable. But, I continue to have the touch-pad and pressure problems. On the left side group, the touch-pad manual button does not work at all, and pressing the single "long shot" button causes the double "long shot" button to light up. Auto shot timing does not seem to work... after pressing a long shot button the machine stays on until I press either of the short shot buttons. The right hand side group buttons work properly.

The pressure problem is resolved by opening the steam valve after the pressure-stat shuts off the heating current. I have read that this may be caused by a problem with the OPV valve, but, given the lack of documentation on this machine, I am not sure which valve that is.

Any help, ideas or advice most appreciated. Note, FWIW, the machine is in France.

berkinet (original poster)

#2: Post by berkinet (original poster) »

I have resolved both of the issues posted at the top of this thread. For those who may face similar problems, here is how I resolved them.