Eric's E61 thermometer 2nd degree burn

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
em

#1: Post by em »

Hey guys. I have been using Eric's thermometer for a few months. I remember when thinking during installation, "couldn't back pressure cause the thermometer to come rocketing out with hot water at my face?"

This morning those suspicions were realized, and I feel really stupid for not taking more precaution.

I was pulling a ristretto and the grind was a little too fine, choking the machine. After 2 seconds, the back pressure launched the thermometer insert directly forward of the machine, which naturally is where I was standing to pull the brew lever.

I'm extremely lucky to have jumped out of the way. It flew across my kitchen about 15 feet and hit a wall, where the thermometer broke into pieces, followed by a [300ish degree?] thin stream of hot water.

My arm was not so lucky:

Just warning everyone. Just to be clear I'm not trying to sue or anything (of course). I think I followed the instructions to the T though and the thermometer is dangerous by design. Others should be aware. Also I'd like to let Eric know if anyone knows how to contact him, as I think the design should be changed to prevent this from happening to anyone else.

Advertisement
Beezer

#2: Post by Beezer »

Ouch, that looks very painful. I hope you got proper medical attention for the burn.

I've never heard of anyone having this happen with one of Eric's thermometers before. I had one for years and it never so much as leaked. However, I suppose a failure like this is always a possibility. Very unfortunate.
Lock and load!

barry

#3: Post by barry »

If that was installed with a brass compression ferrule, then the installation was improperly done.

erics
Supporter ★

#4: Post by erics »

Emery -

I am sorry to hear of this unfortunate situation.