Volumetrics, how accurate are they?

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
ShelbiRyan

Postby ShelbiRyan » Jan 05, 2019, 6:13 pm

Years ago when I started with my little Breville, I had used volumetrics. But of course being a beginner, I wasn't weighing out my shots. So I can't completely remember how accurate or consistent that machine was. I then moved to a double boiler E61, single dosed in and perfectly weighed my shots out, manually of course. So my accuracy was pretty damn good.

I've now moved to a pressure profiling machine with volumetrics. I've noticed after setting a certain amount of ml output, with all other parameters the same, my output weight can vary as much as 3 grams above or below my original setting. I have a hunch that the pressure profiling may be causing inconsistencies.

My question is, how accurate are other non profiling and profiling machines? The article linked below states that the accuracy of volumetrics using precise basket dosing is pretty bang on....but not using any kind of profiling.

So far my experience is far from those results. I'm trying to narrow down the culprit...

http://www.lamarzoccousa.com/blog/ben-k ... lumetrics/

Znekcihc

Postby Znekcihc » Jan 05, 2019, 7:38 pm

I'm curious about this as well. My next dream machine is the LMLM or GS3 and this is the main feature I'm looking forward to.

AssafL

Postby AssafL » Jan 06, 2019, 5:02 am

Flowmeters push out a pulse (or two) per revolution. So the resolution is the volume per pulse. However, and this is where inaccuracies come from, flow isn't linear. So that at the extremes, while the paddle rotates, the volume isn't as the flowmeter claims. So flowmeters have orifices that linearize some section of the pulse-per-flow curve.

What does this mean? Well - there are two main use cases for flow meters:
1. Inter shot repeatability (same dose, same grooming, same packing) - same water and same bev weight.
2. Measuring water volume.