Vibiemme Domobar Super Factory Settings

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
TwoDoubles

#1: Post by TwoDoubles »

mmmmm.
I have a suspicion, and from what I have read on this site so far, the answer probably lies here :)
Yesterday my Vibiemme Domobar Super arrived in all its shiny glory. If you can remember back to your first machine, you'll know how good this particular gent is feeling right now. I have been lucky enough to pair it with a Mazzer Super Jolly, so now the journey can really begin. But back to the suspicion...
This is the second Vibiemme I have tried in New Zealand (the retailer was kind enough to lend me an older machine for a couple of weeks) and it is the second machine that has had the pressurestat set to 1.5 (if you believe the gauge of course, but as I have no other point of reference, it seems a fair enough tool at this stage).
I am a total beginner, but from what I am reading, 1.5 bar is going to be a tad hot. The cooling flush was spitting fire. The gauge also goes from green (traditionally good!) to red (traditionally not so good) at exactly 1.1 bar, which agrees with what I have found on this excellent forum, so this is where I have first set the pressurestat.

So do you think this a change made by the NZ importer, or do all VBMs arrive like this from the factory? The thing is, although the packaging had definitely been played with (missing straps etc), the boiler wasn't full, so they would have to fill, adjust the pressurestat to produce super hot water, drain and then send on to the retailer. Seems like a pointless, timewasting, stretch of the imagination. It would be good to get some feedback from other VBM Domobar owners to see if this drastic a setting change was needed.