Temperature anomalies Profitec Pro 700

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
LCHF

#1: Post by LCHF »

My machine is a month old and I have been noticing that my brew boiler temp on startup is around 14 degrees Celsius lower than the ambient temperature. Machine is using the reservoir, and the steam boiler temp matches ambient temp. Brew temp seems higher than the set temp, but I'm still quite new to espresso so I'm not the best judge.

With temp set at 94C, medium roast beans, and 18g dose, I have to restrict flow to 6 bar or less with a shot time of 18-20 seconds to get something that doesn't taste overextracted.

I have checked the pid settings against the settings on Clive's site and the only one that doesn't match is the E1 setting. They recommend 27, mine is set at 14 and has a maximum possible value of 25 so I'm guessing this is due to my machine being set to Celsius.

Any ideas of what might be going wrong?

threesips

#2: Post by threesips »

Hi Ben, and welcome to HB.

Profitec's default Celsius E1 offset for the Pro 700 is indeed 14. The default Fahrenheit offset is 26-27. See the "Recommended Settings" table on page two of this pdf:
/downloads/ ... elsius.pdf

But the correct E1 offset for your particular machine could be higher or lower than the default. This discussion might be helpful:
Adjusting PID offset temperature to avoid flash boiling

Advertisement
jrham12

#3: Post by jrham12 »

Welcome to HB Ben!

As Wes (threesips) points out, nothing wrong with your machine... Remember that the displayed temperature is the actual minus the offset. So take your ambient temperature (when the machine is just turned on) and subtract the offset of 14 and that's what it will display.

The offset accounts for the difference in the temperature at the portafilter versus the temperature in the boiler. (Water in the boiler is actually 14°C hotter than your T1 setting.)

Josh

Bluenoser

#4: Post by Bluenoser »