Second pull on Breville Barista Pro takes much longer

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
drflossy

#1: Post by drflossy »

Hey folks,

I'm fairly new to the espresso community, but recently picked up the Breville Barista Pro. When I make back to back double shots, the second shot tends to take a much longer in time. No change in grind setting or any setting for that matter. Volume wise, both pulls are about the same. The first shot typically takes 27-30 seconds and then second around 40-42 seconds. Any thoughts? Typically I follow this routine:

1) Turn on machine, pull two blind shots to warm up group head and portafilter, wait a few minutes
2) Weigh out around 17.5g of coffee directly into portafilter with single wall basket with a dosing funnel
3) Tap out any clumps (may need to start using a WDT)
4) Use a distributor to even out the bed
5) Use a hand tamper with fixed length for more consistent tamping
6) Press the standard double shot button on the Barista Pro

In between the second shot, I tap out the puck. Place the portafilter back onto the group head and run a blind shot. Clean off the portafilter and group head. Tap out as much retained water in the portafilter and dry the basket before grinding a second batch of coffee (following the same steps above).

The only thing I can think of that may be causing this is inconsistent distribution of the coffee and tamping. When I don't make back to back shots, I don't seem to run into this issue. It is only when I am making back to back shots, one right after the other, that I notice this.

Any thoughts?

Thanks!

jcmonty

#2: Post by jcmonty »

Welcome! I recently had similar issues to you with this machine. You may want to review this thread as the experienced members on this board definitely helped my journey (still a process TBH):

Breville Barista Pro - Inconsistent output with a standard process?

Top recommendations I would make for you is to :