Rancilio Silvia / timer and priming

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
Maxcheese

#1: Post by Maxcheese »

Hi Guys!

Newbie here! I was planning on plugging my Silvia to an intelligent outlet so it turns on for pre-heating automatically an hour before I wake up. Now I understand it's not a good thing since the boiler doesn't get automatically primed turning it on and it could lead to burning the heating elements.

However, if I prime it by turning the water on for a few seconds and fill the boiler everytime i turn it off, will it stay primed for the morning after, assuming the pressure valve is off, switches are off and I have no leaks?

I assume the water will remain in the boiler right?

Bonus second question here also...Anybody tried changing the shower head big screw to something a little flatter? I'm talking just the screw, without the whole conversion kit... Any changes?

Thanks and happy brewing!

MNate
Supporter ♡

#2: Post by MNate »

I think that your priming technique would be fine. I never really worried about it. And I always thought a half hour was plenty of time for heating. I'm having trouble remembering my process though... but in general if you even half way think about your process on the Silvia I think you'll be quite fine.

And yes... I do think some tried flatter screws, but I'm in the camp that it doesn't matter too much. Worth a try though as it's pretty easy just to replace it with something flatter.

bcrdukes
Supporter ♡

#3: Post by bcrdukes »

Hi Max,

I had used a Silvia V3 for a number of years on a traditional electronic timer, not a smart/intelligent one (they did not exist back then.)

I don't recall having to prime my machine when it turned on. I recall having the timer set to turn on at around 6:30am every morning, and by the time I am out of bed and ready to pull a shot, it's at least 7:00am. I always made sure that the machine had water in the boiler at the end of each day.