Rancilio Silvia Pro users...I need some support.

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
uff_da

#1: Post by uff_da »

I work as Barista about three days a week, for about the last four months. So I am not a complete novice, but I am absolutely a complete novice lol. I need some help.

We moved into our house last year and I have really wanted to buy an espresso machine. But still kind of on the fence. But finally I started looking and it took me like 2 months to pick one out. I didn't want to spend too much money. But I also didn't want to spend a small amount of money and be unhappy with the performance.

Finally pick one. I get my Rancilio Silvia Pro as it kinda checked out for what I was looking for. I unbox it and the cord is badly bent. It didn't break, but it was darn close. It will have a permanent bend and visible line for the rest of its life. So I'm a little unhappy about that. But my husband says its fine and I wait a day or two and then I get it going. At first, I am a terrible tamper. (I don't have to tamp where I work) But I am figuring that out. I then realize that water is leaking into the drip tray from inside the machine. Not from the group head or portafilter. Every time I pull a shot over a tablespoon of water goes into the drip tray from inside the machine. So that is concerning...or is it? Is this normal? Yikes.

I contacted Seattle coffee gear because they want issues reported within 5 days, just to get it on the books.