Quick Mill Carola EVO - Review & Photos

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
narwhal

#1: Post by narwhal »

Intro

A lot has been said about the original Quick Mill Carola in this review from 2015: Quick Mill Carola - Review. Thank you for this great info in this thread!

Now there is an updated Carola - the Carola EVO. I recently purchased one from Chris' Coffee and thought I would pay back the community by posting my experience and photos. There's not a ton of info out there about this machine, so hopefully this helps.

As I learn more and get into a routine with the machine, I will try to post any updates.

Disclaimer: I'm new to semi-automatics, so I don't have a ton of espresso experience, but I at least tried to provide a lot of photos. Oh and please ignore my current grinder situation!

Overview

If you are reading this, you perhaps know that the Carola is an unusual machine because it has no steam or hot water wands. So, it's basically the brew half of a dual boiler.

But for less than $1k you get the high-end functionality and look of the E61 brew group, along with features like a PID, pressure gage, and easily-accessed pump pressure adjustment valve.

So, if you are on a limited budget or just want a great machine for pulling shots, it's a unique and appealing option. The Carola EVO is simple, high quality, and fun to experiment with. So far, I love it!

Purchase Experience

In the USA I believe Chris' Coffee is the only importer/seller of the Carola. I found them to be helpful, knowledgeable, and quick with my order.

As documented in prior reviews, the machine arrives very well-packaged in a double box. I was first concerned that the inner box had been opened and resealed, but it turns out that Chris' Coffe tests and inspects each unit before sending to the end customer. Nice.

Initial Impressions