Puck screen experience? - Page 14

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
baldheadracing
Team HB

#131: Post by baldheadracing »

Nunas wrote:... I have an idea, that I've never tried. That is, if one uses a sintered metal puck screen, or maybe even a thin puck screen. Then, maybe one wouldn't need to have a shower screen in the machine.
Flair 58 went that route.

Due to the difficulty in obtaining a Cremina '67 shower screen, I ran my Oly Club without a shower screen for a few months - just using a thin puck screen. It worked, but I did not check if things were made better or worse.
-"Good quality brings happiness as you use it" - Nobuho Miya, Kamasada

BaristaBob

#132: Post by BaristaBob »

Nunas wrote:I can't comment from experience with this screen, or the with machines that have screws holding their shower screens in place. But I have plenty of experience with sintered metal puck screens; I bought a couple of generic ones mostly to prove they do nothing :mrgreen: , only to keep using them for some years :shock: .

One of the things a sintered metal puck screen (n.p.c. thin puck screens) does is to keep the puck somewhat compacted during the preinfusion phase. It takes up the space above the puck, or much of it. When the coffee grains expand, they are then forced into any voids in the puck. I believe that this is why some folks report less channeling when using a sintered metal screen. This one would leave a space between the periphery of the shower screen screw and the edge of that big hole in the centre. I'm not at all sure if this would have any meaningful effect on the foregoing limitation of expansion, but it must have some. My guess is that it would work, but with an unknown amount of degradation in effect, compared to a standard puck screen.