Profitec Pro 800 inline water pressure help

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
Grg102

#1: Post by Grg102 »

Hello all,
First off thank you all in advance for the help. I am new to the home-espresso game. I finally purchased my Profitec pro 800. I have been using the machine for about 6 months. I then realized my inline water pressure is too high.

So my setup is plumbed in. I purchased the BWT Bestmax water filter kit as it has everything I should need and be perfect for the setup. This water filter includes a pressure reducer valve. The recommended inline water pressure for this machine per Profitec is 2-3 bars of inline pressure. I am only able to achieve as low as 4 bars of inline pressure. I am 100% certain I set it up correctly. I have turned the gauge on the pressure reducer ALL THE WAY to the lowest pressure possible, and am still only able to get down to 4 bars of inline pressure. The Profitec itself is reading 1-1.2t bars of pressure which is what I need. The frustrating thing about it is that the BWT bestmax states "guaranteed pressure from 2-8 bars".

Am I damaging my machine because of this number? Am I impacting shot quality because of this? Do I need a SECOND pressure reducer to achieve 2-3 bars? Given the design of the Profitec pro 800, is 4 bars inline pressure unacceptable? Does anyone else run around 4 bars with a similar machine?
I spent so much time and money to get to this point now this one thing Is driving me crazy please help!!. Any advice of solutions would be wonderful. Thanks again !!

BaristaBoy E61

#2: Post by BaristaBoy E61 »

Welcome to HB.

I don't think you are hurting your equipment at all. Speak to the dealer you purchased your equipment from on this matter. Our line pressure on or direct plumbed machine is at a higher pressure (about 5-bar) with no ill effect on the equipment or the shots.